Shri Neiphiu Rio (born November 11, 1950) is an Indian politician. He was the Chief Minister of Nagaland for three terms (2003–08, 2008–13 and 2013–14), making him the only Nagaland Chief Minister to have served three consecutive terms.

Early life and education

Rio is the son of Late Guolhoulie Rio of Tuophema village in Kohima District and belongs to the Angami Naga tribe. He received his early education from Baptist English School, Kohima and Sainik School Purulia, West Bengal. He attended college at St. Joseph’s College, Darjeeling and later graduated from Kohima Arts College.

An active student leader in his School and College days, Rio entered into the realm politics at a very young age. He had headed many prestigious organizations before becoming the Nagaland Chief Minister. He had been the President of Kohima District United Democratic Front (UDF) Youth Wing in 1974. He was also appointed as the Chairman of Northern Angami Area Council in 1984. He also had been the honorary Vice President of Indian Red Cross Society Nagaland branch.

Political career

On joining politics, Rio was first elected to Nagaland Legislative Assembly as Congress (I) candidate from the Northern Angami-II constituency during the 7th General Elections of 1989. He was appointed as the Minister for Sports and School Education and subsequently as Minister for Higher & Technical Education and Art & Culture; also served as Chairman in Nagaland Industrial Development Corporation, Nagaland Khadi & Village Industries Board and Development Authority of Nagaland. Rio was again elected from the same Constituency in 1993 as Congress (I) candidate and appointed as Minister for Works & Housing.As a member of the Indian National Congress, Rio was Nagaland’s Home Minister as part of the cabinet headed by S. C. Jamir from 1998 till 2002 when he resigned from the ministry accusing Chief Minister S. C. Jamir of blocking a negotiated settlement of the vexed Naga issue.

On resigning, Rio joined Naga People’s Front which partnered with other Naga regionalist parties and the state branch of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) under his leadership to form the Democratic Alliance of Nagaland (DAN), a coalition which won the 2003 state elections, bringing the 10-year-long rule of the Indian National Congress in the state to an end. Rio subsequently took office as Chief Minister on March 6, 2003.

Before completing his first term, Rio was dismissed as Chief Minister when President’s Rule was imposed on Nagaland on January 3, 2008.However, his party emerged as the single largest party in the ensuing elections and Rio, as the leader of DAN, was invited by the state Governor to form the government on March 12, 2008. During the 2013 Nagaland State elections, NPF won a thumping majority and Rio was re-elected as Chief Minister for a third term.


Rio was nominated as Life time Deputy Governor (Honorary) in 1999 in the Board of Governors by American Biographical Institute Research Association. Rio played a key role in setting up the Music Task Force, the first music industry in the country. He was awarded The Mother Teresa Millennium award, for his outstanding leadership and contributions to politics in Kolkata in the year 2007.

Sl. Name Took Office Left Office Party
1  P.Shilu Ao 01 December 1963 14 August 1966 Naga Nationalist Organisation
2  T.N. Angami 14 August 1966 22 February 1969 Naga Nationalist Organisation
3  Hokishe Sema 22 February 1969 26 February 1974 Naga Nationalist Organisation
4  Vizol Angami 26 February 1974 10 March 1975 United Democratic Front
5  John Bosco   Jasokie 10 March 1975 20 March 1975 Naga National Democratic Party
6  President's   rule 20 March 1975 25 November 1977
7  Vizol   Angami 25 November 1977 18 April 1980 United Democratic Front
8  S.C. Jamir 18 April 1980 04 June 1980 United Democratic Front-Progressive
9  John Bosco  Jasokie 05 June 1980 18 November 1982 Naga National Democratic Party
10  S.C. Jamir 18 November 1982 28 October 1986 United Democratic Front-Progressive
11  Hokishe Sema 29 October 1986 07 August 1988 Indian National Congress
12  President's   rule 07 August 1988 25 January 1989
13  S.C. Jamir 25 January 1989 10 May 1990 Indian National Congress
14  K.L. Chishi 16 May 1990 19 June 1990 Indian National Congress
15  Vamuzo Phesao 19 June 1990 02 April 1992 Nagaland People's Council
16  President's   rule 02 April 1992 22 February 1993
17  S.C. Jamir 22 February 1993 06 March 2003 Indian National Congress
18  Neiphiu Rio 06 March 2003 03 January 2008 Nagaland People's Front
19  President's   rule 03 January 2008 12 March 2008
20  Neiphiu Rio 12 March 2008 23 May 2014 Nagaland People's Front
21  T.R. Zeliang 24 May 2014 19 February 2017 Nagaland People's Front
22  Dr.Shurhozelie  Liezietsu 22 February 2017 18 July 2017 Nagaland People's Front
23  T.R. Zeliang 19 July 2017 07 March 2018 Nagaland People's Front
24  Neiphiu Rio 18 March 2018 03 March 2021 NDPP

Last updated on 03-03-2021 00:31:30