For latest information on COVID-19 pandemic in Nagaland visit the Official State COVID-19 Dashboard

Shri Ravindra Narayan Ravi born at Patna in Bihar did his Masters in Physics in 1974 and after a brief stint in journalism joined the Indian Police Service in 1976 and was allotted the Kerala Cadre. He served in Kerala in various capacities including Districts for over a decade and then in different parts of the country in various capacities. While serving in the CBI, he led several anti-corruption crusades against organised criminal gangs including the mining mafias in the country.

While in the Intelligence Bureau (IB), Ministry of Home Affairs, Government of India, the premier intelligence agency of the country, he served largely in theatres of endemic violence including in the Jammu & Kashmir and the North East. He also specialised in the dynamics of human migration in South Asia and worked extensively on the political sociology of border population.

He has played crucial roles in conflict resolutions in areas affected with ethnic insurgencies and brought several armed rebel groups into peace. He was the architect of India’s international cooperation in counter terrorism and intelligence sharing.

After retirement from Government service in 2012, he wrote regular columns in national dailies.

He was appointed the Chairman, Joint Intelligence Committee in the Prime Minister’s Office where as the Head of the Intelligence Community, he co-ordinated and guided the agencies to meet the intelligence needs of the Country. He was appointed as the Centre’s Interlocutor for the Naga peace talks on 29th August 2014, a responsibility he continues to discharge. He was appointed as Deputy National Security Advisor in October 2018.

On his appointment as the Governor of Nagaland by the President of India, Shri R. N. Ravi assumed the charge as the Governor of Nagaland on 1st August, 2019.

Governor's of Nagaland
Name Took Office Left Office
Shri Vishnu Sahay 01-12-1963 16-04-1968
Shri B.K. Nehru 17-04-1968 18-09-1973
L. P Singh 1973 1981
Shri Syed M.H. Burney 10-08-1981 12-06-1984
General (Retd.) K.V. Krishna Rao, PVSM 13-06-1984 19-07-1989
Dr. Gopal Singh 20-07-1989 03-05-1990
Dr. M.M. Thomas 09-05-1990 12-04-1992
Shri Loknath Mishra 13-04-1992 01-10-1993
Lt. Gen. V.K. Nayar 02-10-1993 04-08-1994
Shri O.N. Shrivatsva 05-08-1995 11-11-1996
Shri O.P. Sharma 12-11-1996 27-01-2002
Shri Shyamal Datta 28-01-2002 02-02-2007
Shri. K. Sankaranarayanan 03-02-2007 27-07-2009
Shri. Gurbachan Jagat 28-07-2009 14-10-2009
Shri. Nikhil Kumar 14-10-2009 20-03-2013
Showing 1 to 15 of total 19 entries

Last updated on 20-06-2021 22:11:17