Shri. Jagdish Mukhi

Governor of Nagaland

Governor's Profile

Prof Jagdish Mukhi is the 20th Governor of Nagaland and he assumed his office on 17th September 2021, as additional charge. Prof Jagdish Mukhi is the 30th Governor of Assam and he assumed his office on 10th October 2017.

Prior to his appointment as the Governor of Assam, Shri Mukhi was the Lieutenant Governor of Andaman and Nicobar Islands. Prof. Jagdish Mukhi earlier held the portfolios of finance, planning, excise & taxation and higher education in Delhi Government. He is credited with working extensively for the welfare of the people of Delhi. He was the leader of the opposition for tenyears from 1998 to 2008.

Some of the notable achievements credited to Prof. Jagdish Mukhi’sname were banning of lottery trade etc in Delhi in 1994, when he was the minister of finance. He because of his keen interest and strict initiative in bringing a bill, could contain the consumption of alcohol in Delhi. As the minister of Higher Education, Prof. Mukhi had established the self funded University namely Guru Gobind Singh Indraprastha University in Delhi. He was also honoured as the best finance minister of the nation and also received best MLA award in Delhi Vidhan Sabha for two times. He represented Janak Puri constituency continuously from 1980 and won seven times from the same constituency. Jagdish Mukhi was born to Late J.R Mukhi and Late Laxi Devi Mukhi on 1st December 1942.

Former Governors

Sl.No Name Took Office Left Office Profile
Sl.No Name Took Office Left Office Profile
1 Shri Vishnu Sahay 01-12-1963 16-04-1968 View Profile
2 Shri B.K. Nehru 17-04-1968 18-09-1973 View Profile
3 L. P Singh 1973 1981 View Profile
4 Shri Syed M.H. Burney 10-08-1981 12-06-1984 View Profile
5 General (Retd.) K.V. Krishna Rao, PVSM 13-06-1984 19-07-1989 View Profile
6 Dr. Gopal Singh 20-07-1989 03-05-1990 View Profile
7 Dr. M.M. Thomas 09-05-1990 12-04-1992 View Profile
8 Shri Loknath Mishra 13-04-1992 01-10-1993 View Profile
9 Lt. Gen. V.K. Nayar 02-10-1993 04-08-1994 View Profile
10 Shri O.N. Shrivatsva 05-08-1995 11-11-1996 View Profile
11 Shri O.P. Sharma 12-11-1996 27-01-2002 View Profile
12 Shri Shyamal Datta 28-01-2002 02-02-2007 View Profile
13 Shri. K. Sankaranarayanan 03-02-2007 27-07-2009 View Profile
14 Shri. Gurbachan Jagat 28-07-2009 14-10-2009 View Profile
15 Shri. Nikhil Kumar 14-10-2009 20-03-2013 View Profile
16 Dr. Ashwani Kumar 21-03-2013 01-07-2014 View Profile
17 Dr. Krishan Kant Paul 02-07-2014 18-07-2014 View Profile
18 Shri P.B. Acharya 19-07-2014 31-07-2019 View Profile
19 Shri. R N Ravi 01-08-2019 09/11/2021 View Profile
20 Prof. Jagdish Mukhi 17/09/2021 Incumbent View Profile
Site last updated on : 07-02-2023